Global Inspiration GyeongGi-Do


We are proud of all we have to offer our residents.Here, you can find information on working in Korea, medical care and living information

Meet the past and the future of Gyeonggi-do.You will discover the arts and culture unique to Gyeonggi-do.

Whether you run a small business ormajor corporation, Gyeonggi-do provides the businessenvironment and support your companyneeds to succeed and grow.​​

Obtain a wide range of useful information on Gyeonggi-do here.

Come visit the attractive cities of Gyeonggi-do and enjoy an extensive range of attractions.


go home button icon

The current name for Gyeonggi-do was first used in the 11th century (1026).
The Gyeonggi area of the Korean Peninsula has served as the capital region for more than a thousand years.
It now plays a vital role in the politics, economy, and culture of Korea.

position of korea in world map

Administrative Districts

Korea is located in Northeast Asia, which is home to diverse economic activities. The region can be divided into four parts: north, west, east and central. In the north region where Russia is located, primary products such as timber and minerals are extracted.
The west region is home to agriculture, light industry and manufacturing.
The east region has become the leader in a vast array of advanced industries that have been moving offshore to more cost-efficient locations.
Korea is located at the center and the center of Korean business and industry is the capital city Seoul and Gyeonggi-do.
Most industries, from agriculture to information technology, can be found in this area.

Gyeonggi-do is located in the west-central area of the Korean Peninsula and surrounds Seoul, the capital of Korea. Situated between 126° and 127° east longitude and between 36° and 38° north latitude, Gyeonggi-do enjoys a temperate climate.
It is bordered to the north by the 38th parallel and to the west by the Yellow Sea. Gyeonggi-do is divided into northern and southern halves by the Han River, which flows through the province from east to west.
The northeastern area is mountainous while the southwestern area consists of wide plains. The area of Gyeonggi-do is 10,189 ㎢, accounting for approximately 10.2% of the total land area of South Korea.

The total area of Gyeonggi-do is 10,175㎢ (northern part 4.266㎢, southern part 5,909㎢). It is 17 times that of the area of Seoul Metropolitan City (605 ㎢).
It occupies 10.1% of national territory measuring 100,341 ㎢ and is the 5th largest in Korea.
The cities and counties in Gyeonggi-do that are larger in area than Seoul Metropolitan City are Yangpyeong (877 ㎢), Gapyeong (843 ㎢), Pocheon (826 ㎢), Hwaseong (689 ㎢ ), Yeoncheon (675 ㎢), Paju (672 ㎢) and Yeoju (608 ㎢). The size of Gyeonggi-do is 15 times and 9 times that of Singapore and Hong Kong respectively.

position of Gyeonggi-do in korea map



Established Yeoju-gun as Yeoju-si by Enactment No. 11850 (Promulgated on June 4, 2013)/ Regulation No.32 (Promulgated on September 23, 2013 ) Established Ganam-myeon as Ganam-eup, Yeoju-eup as Yeoheung-dong, Jungang-dong, Ohak-dong (The abolition of Yeoju-eup, Ohack Branch)


Woncheon-dong separated into Woncheon-dong and Gwanggyo-dong by Suwon City Regulation No.3139


Gimpo 2-dong separated into Gimpo 2-dong and Janggi-dong by Gimpo City Regulation No.1007


Byeollae-myeon separated into Byeollae-myeon and Byeolla- dong by Namyangju City Regulation No.1006


Established Sosabon-dong by merging Sosabon 1-dong and Sosabon 2-dong, Sosa-gu by Bucheon City Regulation No.2644


Yangchon-myeon promoted to Yangchon-eup by Gimpo City Regulation No.941


Jung-dong renamed as Jungang-dong by Seongnam City Regulation No.2510 (legal, governmental)


Geumchon 1-dong separated into Geumchon 1-dong and Geumchon 3-dong by Paju City Regulation No.975, Gyoha-eup transferred to governmental dongs: Gyoha-dong, Unjeong 1-dong, Unjeong 2-dong, Unjeong 3-dong, respectively, by Paju City Regulation No.975


Silchon-eup renamed as Gonjiam-eup by Gwangju City Regulation No.437


Gunnae branch renamed as Jangdan branch by Paju City Regulation No.939


Yeonsung-dong separated into Yeonsung-dong and Neunggok-dong by Siheung City Regulation No.1132


Singal-dong, Giheung-gu separated into Singal-dong and Yeongdeok-dong by Yongin City Regulation No.1086


Pangyo-dong separated into Pangyo-dong and Baekhyeon-dong by Seongnam City Regulation No.2353


Gochon-myeon promoted to Gochon-eup and Gurae-dong and Masan-dong established as new legal dongs by Gimpo City Regulation No. 813


Dongtan1-dong separated into Dongtan 1-dong and Dongtan 3-dong by Hwaseong City Regulation No.599


Pangyo-dong, Bundang-gu separated into Pangyo-dong and Sampyeong-dong by Seongnam City Regulation No.2277


Geumgok 1-dong and Geumgok 2-dong renamed as Geumgok-dong and Gumi 1 –dong respectively by Seongnam City Regulation No.2257


Dongtan-dong separated into Dongtan 1-dong and Dongtan 2-dong by Hwaseong City Regulation No.522

question iconAre you satisfied with the service provided on the current page?
Very Satisfied
Very Dissatisfied
Person in charge of content : Gyeonggi-do Provincial Office
Content may be re-used/re-distributed only if the original source is appropriately credited,
and may not be modified and/or used for commercial purposes.
mobile global navigation menu close button